AR Newbie Registered Member

NAD 7100X Repair

I recently purchased a used NAD 7100X Monitor-series receiver. It appears to have a typical malady that afflicts this model, i.e. intermittent speaker relay operation. As an electronics tech, I have troubleshot the problem, and it is certainly the relays as you can toggle the Speaker A and Speaker B selection push-button and the intermittent failure does occur.

Additionally, I have noted one electrolytic filter capacitor (10,000 uf @ 80VDC) in one of the power supplies (NAD typically has two separate low-voltage supplies) is leaking. Thus, it too should be replaced. In fact, it's probably a good idea to replace all filter caps.

One poster in the "Reviews" section mentioned on his 7400X that he had a similar problem but was able to "fix" the problem with the relays. These relays are sealed, and it's been my professional experience even if you can get to the contacts, cleaning them only delays replacement of the relay.

Does anyone on this Forum have any technical experience with the NAD 7100X? If so, I would certainly appreciate your input, or at least a source for parts. I could just box it up and send it to United Radio in Syracuse, NY, but since I know where the problems appear to be, it would certainly be cheaper for me to repair it.

Thanks,
    Don

Forum Regular

I feel your pain