AR Newbie Registered Member

Newbie - Trying to run speakers outside (it's a long distance)

Hi -
    I must start by saying I am a very beginner to the audio enthusiast world. Here is where I need some guidance.

I would like to run some outdoor speakers so I can play some Halloween music in my front yard. The run is about 90 feet. I purchased some outdoor bookshelf Jensen speakers. I first ran them to a little boombox, but of course the audio was very soft...so I figured I needed an amplifier because the run was so far. So, this weekend, I purchased a Kenwood KM-208 Power Amplifier at a garage sale. I figured I could plug the boombox to the amp running a y-cord out of the headphone jack into the amp. Well, it doesn't seem to work. I get a little squeak and then silence. Could it be a bad amp? Bad cord? or am I missing something else.

Thanks for your guidance.
    Mike

I put the Gee in Gear.... thekid's Avatar
    Do you have any type of pre-amp you can hook up to the amp?
    My guess is since the boom box does not have a pre-out you are not going to have any luck. It is not as simple as hooking an amp up and instant power. If you don't have a pre-amp I'd scour the local thrifts and see what they have. You might be able to find a pre-amp and a cassette deck/cd player for under $30. Heck if you find a decent enough pre-amp like a matching Kenwood KC series you might discover you have a nice little 2-channel system. I have a Kenwood KM-209 and it is a pretty solid amp.

Check out that amp.

The simplist method would be by plugging a source into it (MP3 player, CD player, etc) and a pair of headphones.

If that works, then reconnect those speakers using that same source.

That should give you a pretty good indication if all is well with the amp.

That's the ticket!!!

Quote Originally Posted by markw
    The simplist method would be by plugging a source into it (MP3 player, CD player, etc) and a pair of headphones.