Forum Regular

Smile Receiver for Totem Rainmakers

Hi!

First of, let me admit that I'm an absolute beginner in the world of hi-fi audio, but neverthless have been a music-enthusiast for a long time. I recently stumbled upon the Totem Rainmakers and was blown away by their performance, given that they're relatively small speakers. I have decided to go for a pair of used Rainmakers as and when they're available.

I was wondering if a receiver like the Denon 1708 / Onkyo 605 / Denon 397CI would do justice to these speakers. As you can see, my the funds I can devote to this interest of mine are limited. It would be great if you have any other recommendations apart from the ones mentioned.

Thanks a ton!!!

if you're looking for a receiver, I would perhaps recommend the 640R by Cambridge Audio.

I like the Onkyo 605 out of that group.
    Pass Labs X250 amp, BAT Vk-51se Preamp,
    Thorens TD-145 TT, Bellari phono preamp, Nagaoka MP-200 Cartridge
    Magnepan QR1.6 speakers
    Luxman DA-06 DAC
    Van Alstine Ultra Plus Hybrid Tube DAC
    Dual Martin Logan Original Dynamo Subs
    Parasound A21 amp
    Vintage Luxman T-110 tuner
    Magnepan MMG's, Grant Fidelity DAC-11, Class D CDA254 amp
    Monitor Audio S1 speakers, PSB B6 speakers
    Vintage Technic's Integrated amp
    Music Hall 25.2 CDP
    Adcom GFR 700 AVR
    Cables- Cardas, Silnote, BJC
    Velodyne CHT 8 sub

Forum Regular Jack in Wilmington's Avatar
    There are several pairs of Rainmakers on Audiogon right now. They range in price from $425 to $625. I would go with the Onkyo for now and save for a nice 2 channel amp to really make them come alive.

Forum Regular

Smile Denons more versatile with music?

Thanks for the responses. Truly appreciate it!

One more question - I was told by one audio equipment salesman that Denons can handle music of a wider variety compared to the Onkyos - how true has this been in your experience? Given that my use is going to be 80% music .....