AR Newbie Registered Member

Radio Shk Mach One's

Hi.....I'm new to this post. Perhaps someone can lend me a hand. Have a pair of RS Mach One speakers, and one if the 15" sub woofers is cracked with age (1983). Radio Shack no longer supports replacement woofers for this speaker, and I'd like to know where I can find a good, suitable replacement. Any help????

PDN
    Forum Regular
    Velodyne and REL are dedicated powered sub-woofer manufacturers. I believe you can buy REL at Best Buy and Circuit City.

Two responses in one post

Quote Originally Posted by PDN
    Velodyne and REL are dedicated powered sub-woofer manufacturers. I believe you can buy REL at Best Buy and Circuit City.
    Bad advice. He doesn't have a subwoofer, just a big ole woofer. There's a considerable difference between woofers and SUBwoofers.

If we're offering advice, we should be able to use our experience to try to determine what he's really asking before jumping in with the answers. We're supposed to be the ones with experience and should know better.

Now, for the OP, first off, as you might have picked up on already, you have a big woofer, not a subwoofer. A subwoofer only works below where your main speakers stops, generally around 80, maybe 100 hz or so. Your woofer goes up to somewhere around 300 hz or higher.

If you were to put a subwoofer in there it would be missing a whole lotta notes between where the subwoofer stopped working and your midrange starts in. to put it simply, it would not sound good.

Second, when you say "cracked with age", are you referring to the whole speaker or just the part on the outside of the speaker, between the paper cone and the metal frame?

If it's just the the outside (or surround) they can be "refoamed" fairly reasonably. There are many places that will either do this for you or sell you a kit so you can do it yourself.

This is one that does good work. http://www.newfoam.com I'm sure there are others as well but this one I'm familiar with.