Forum Regular

Older flagship model A/V receivers

I've been thinking of upgrading my receiver and have been looking at some of the 2-4 year old Flagship models on E-bay/ Craigslist such as the Yamaha RX-Z9, Denon Avr-5803, Pioneer VSX-59txi. My present AVR is a Yamaha RX-V2500. Also in the near future I will likely be purchasing a 1080P Plasma and Blu-ray player.

Would it be worth it to pick one of these up if I could get a decent price or would I be better off running separate amps from the RX-V2500's pre-outs? Also how vital are the HDMI hookups. I'm very new to the latest home theater connections/ formats.

Any first hand accounts of the above receivers appreciated

Thanks in advance.

Forum Regular
    I am not going to give any recommendations to any products at this time because you are not really ready to purchase anything however giving food for thought that when the time comes I hope that what I have written will have helped you in your search when that time comes to make that purchase.

When you purchase that blue ray player, what kind of sound do you want to hear out of it. What I mean is, do you want to hear the newer Dolby HIGH DEF and DTS HIGH DEF AUDIO CODECS that are featured on many of the blue ray discs. If that is the case, than those receivers that you mention are worthless to consider. The receivers you would have to purchase must state that they can process these codecs and the blue-ray player must state that they can output those codecs over the HDMI cable. The blue ray player should have at least two hdmi cable outputs. The receiver should have two and better still three hdmi pass throughs. There has been reports of what is called "handshake"problems between players and receivers which I hope gets taken care of as newer players and receivers come online.