Forum Regular

Denon AVR3808Ci or Marantz SR7001

I am currently trying to decide between these two receivers and am having trouble deciding. I will be purchasing either paradigm or psbs in the near future, currently have klipsch which i will be retiring. I am just wondering if anybody has any experience with the two manufacturers, thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by noek
    I am currently trying to decide between these two receivers and am having trouble deciding. I will be purchasing either paradigm or psbs in the near future, currently have klipsch which i will be retiring. I am just wondering if anybody has any experience with the two manufacturers, thanks!
    Hello "noek"!

I have some experience with both manufacturers. You are going to have to determine what is most important to you.....sound quality or video switching.

The Denon AVR 3808 is Denon's newest entry for the '08 model year. And believe me, it's a beast. Video switching capability is it's claim to fame! 4 HDMI v1.3a inputs; Upconversion from composite to HDMI; Ethernet connectivity w/ Window Vista compatability; The biggies: Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD decoding; Deep Color; Faroudja Video Processing....and a claimed 130 watts x 7.....the list goes on. It's a nice product for a cool $1599.00.

The Marantz SR7001 Has been on the market for a year now and has held it's own. Considered one of the best receivers on the market. Marantz is all about sound quality.