AR Newbie Registered Member

Using a H/T Receiver as a temp Pre-amp

Hello everyone, my first post here, however; I've been visiting this site for many years and have enjoyed the reading!

Here is a slight "What I've Got"

Paradigm Monitor 7's V.2 Mains
    Polk Audio RM7500 Center and rears
    2- Infinity CMMD 10 inch 500watt subs
    Denon DVD-2910 (Using DVD-Audio and SACD all the time)
    RCA 56'' CRT hybrid (HD of course)
    Pioneer VSX-D912K 6 channel X 110 watts.
    Audioquest CV-8, Opti-link 5, Diamondback rca,s and HDMI-3 to DVI-3 all Audioquest cables.

Question I have is, I'm about to buy amps. Thinking of a Carver Cathedral-64 60X4 for the 4 rear channels, A Carver TFM-6Cb bridged to 200Watts for the Center. Or I may buy a nice 5 Channel for Center and rears in a 7.2 setup. And something like a B&K ST202 for the main Paradigms. I was just going to use my Pioneer receiver for the pre-amp until I can afford one I like.

So if I use the pre outs on my Pioneer will it still work as the DTS and Dolby Digital decoder? Or would I have to buy an outboard unit? I use digital for movies and anolog for 2 channel audio.

Thanks and I look forward to being a member!

Ok, here is the deal....

I am and was in a similar situation in which I had a NAD amp connected to the pre-outs for my surrounds and a Parasound for my mains. I could then switch my receiver to the CD input when playing 2-channel stuff and run the front speakers with the Parasound and that worked great. Back to the DVD or TV input for surround sound and no problems there either as all channels were driven with amps except the center channel. Yes, DTS still works.

However, I would seriously consider some other amps besides Carver. I think you can do much better and maybe buy a 5-channel amp. Right now on AudioAdvisor you can pick up a John Curl Designed Parasound 5-channel amp for 1K...that's a superb deal considering it was 2.5K originally. It's a huge beast too....about 85lbs worth of solid power!