Forum Regular

Receiver Shopping 101

I'm feeling extremely frustrated. I'm looking for a receiver in the $800-900 price range. That's retail Canadian $$. These receivers would be between $500-$700 in the U.S.

I'm completely new to this scene and don't know on what basis to make my selection. So far I have considered the Onkyo TX-SR604, the HK-AVR245, the Denon AVR-887, and a couple of Yamaha Models. I'm honestly baffled. How do you choose one over another? They all seem like reliable brands with a good feature set (HDMI switching except the Yamaha) with 7.1 inputs and some decent current. I've leaned in all directions and don't know which way to comit. What should I be looking for?

I listen to a lot of easy-listening, vocal-oriented music like Michael Buble, Josh Groban, Jack Johnson, Dave Matthews, John Mayer. I like to hear the details in their voices. That said, I also watch a lot of movies.

PS - I realize that at this price point I can't be all that picky.

Suspended
    You have some nice choices picked out. Have you listened to them to see if you hear a difference? Try to use same brand speakers and CD player if possible. Check the remote, the menu, etc. to see if either is more user friendly. I believe that Onkyo offers a pretty safisticated auto set up feature in that unit, if you are a novis. I like the amp section of the Onkyo, but if you like Easy Listening you may enjoy the warmth of the Yamaha. Preamp outputs are a good feature for future expansion. Just take your time and get familiar with your choices, something will sway you.

Do you have any other equipment yet, like speakers or sources?