Forum Regular

Loewe Aconda 38" HDTV, VGA/RGB???

I have the opportunity to get a Loewe Aconda 38" HDTV for $800. It retailed 2 years ago for $5,500! Anyone know about them? My seating is only 8-9 feet from the TV, do you think that would be an ok size for that distance? Is there a rule of thumb for size vs. distance?

I was reading on one site that this set only had one set of component inputs, but it also says there's a VGA/RGB (HD-15) input. Is that NOT HDTV compatable? and what is the difference between them? Sorry I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to video. Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

note: I don't have a reciever that does component video switching. I have a computer which I'd like to hook up on something better than my current s-video (which I nick-named the headache maker), I also will have a HD-DVD player soon, along with a standard def DishNetwork box.
    Marantz SR 8000
    Paradigm Studio 80s v.2
    Paradigm Studio 20s v.2
    Paradigm Studio CC v.2
    Paradigm Servo 15 v.1 (just sold) :(
    Pioneer Elite DV-36 DVD Player
    Media PC w/ Audigy 4 SC

The Loewe TVs were made in Germany, and they had the beginnings of a US presence for a while. Though short on features, they were built with style and care, and they performed excellently for their time, generally receiving favorable press. However, the company died, and its last vestige of support in this country died with it. Loewes can no longer be serviced. If you're made of money and can recoup your losses if the TV fails, knock yourself out. But if money happens to be an object for you, you'd do well to let it go. In this day and age, the two-year-old Loewe can give you precious little that you can't find in a more contemporary, and practical, TV, and, even beside the fact that it's an orphan, without a digital input, it's at a distinct disadvantage nowadays.

I thought they stopped making those 5 years ago??