Would You Recommend Speaker City Speakers?

High everybody!

I found in a second hand store...a pair of shiny black laminated near mint Speaker City brand speakers. Gold connectors, I guess for banana plugs in the rear (you can tell huh, Im a newbie).

The speakers are bookshelf or studio monitor size with sort of small but really nice rubber speakers/cones/construction.

Their just sitting there in a corner with the store owners not knowing anything about them in a small seconds store in a community that cares nothing about audiophile music appreciation...here in L.A. (You'll never find it! )

Anyway, my question is, before I fork the dough, are these pretty good? Any one have recommendations, experience or own Speaker City speakers?

Thanks for the expertise.

The movie Old School was funny... sorry I couldnt be any help.
    WV?

Department of Heuristics and Research on Material Applications
    Hmmm...Do you see any speakers on this page that look the same:
    http://www.speakercity.com/Merchant2...y_Code=HTSLCRC

How much? Geez, I might be interested. The speaker city I know only uses quality drivers to make well designed monitors. Far beyond the quality of similar priced stuff you'd find in Best Buy etc.
    Do you have a picture? Recognize any of the drivers? Is there a model name or number on the front or back?
    Not the EFE Ar.com DIY project speakers by chance? Speaker City use to sell those.
    If they're cheap enough they're probably worth buying anyway...

Thanks Kexo!

I'd say they're close to these:

But maybe closer to these...

Except they have a super Piano gloss look/exterior box and the speakers look really high end, rubbery etc. They are monitor size, not small nor big but look hefty.

I'm really considering them for my studio.

Do you think they'd be good for home studio recording. I have an amatuer outboard multitracker home stuido.