AR Newbie Registered Member

Help choosing a receiver/amplifier.

I'm a novice audiophile, and I need help choosing a receiver/amplifier to replace my old Harman/Kardon. I use my audio system primarily for listening to, and tape recording from, FM radio, and for playing cassette tapes and CD's. I have pairs of 8 ohm stereo speakers in five rooms of my house so I have up to five pairs of speakers playing at the same time. (I have a protected speaker switcher that I use to turn speakers on or off, and I never have them cranked up very loud.) I'll include a list of my stereo components below.

What kind of receiver/amplifer should I get for my purposes? In particular, how many watts per channel should I have to power ≤ 5 pairs of speakers? The more specific your advice can be about the type and model amplifier I couold get, the happier I'll be. (You should also know that I'm a soon-to-be-retired teacher with not a lot of dispsoable income.)

Here is a list of my current stereo components:
    Receiver/Amplifers: Old Sony STR-AV850, and very old Harman/Kardon 490i
    Casette Recorder/Players: Sony TC-C5 five cassette deck, and Sony TC-WE 835S dual cassette deck
    CD Player: Sony CDP-CX335
    Phonograph: Denon DP 15F
    Speakers: Two sets of Bose 5Series III Acoustomass 8 ohm stereo speaker systems,
    and two sets of JBL 2500 8 ohm bookshelf stereo speaker systems,
    and one set of Realistic Minimus7 8 ohm outdoor stereo speaker system.
    Speaker Switcher: ADCOM GFS-6 Speaker Selector

Thank you in advance for your advice.

Forum Regular

lots of choices but best bang for the buck..