AR Newbie Registered Member

Should I buy these used Atoms?

I was walking in the mall today and passed an audio store that mostly deals with car audio. I noticed it had some home speakers out front and this was odd enough for me to investigate. It appeared that they were mostly used as if they got some package deal on a bunch of used Paradigm speakers.

They had a pair of Atoms v.1 and a pair of Atoms v.2. You could buy either for $35. I looked at the v2 and they were definitely scratched a bit on top, but other than that they looked mostly ok.

To me this seems like a really good price. My only problem is that I don't have anywhere to use them. To use them I have to have an amp or receiver and a CD player and that kind of negates the “cheapness” deal. (I'm a grad student with little money!)

Do you think I could sell them on Audiogon for more?

Do you think I could get a really cheap amp for like $20-30 bucks and use my computer as a preamp? (I'm right in front so I really only need like 4 watts). If so, where would I get such a thing?

It seems like a good deal, I hate to pass it up. What do you all think?

PS. They also had what looked like a PDR-8 (sub) for $20 that they said didn't work. They didn't know if it was speaker or amp. You think something like that would be fixable?

Oh and thanks for the help!

I would have cleaned them out at those prices. If nothing else you can quadruple your money on Ebay.

Silence of the spam Site Moderator Geoffcin's Avatar

You can get a T amp for $30

Quote Originally Posted by Hermitian
    I was walking in the mall today and passed an audio store that mostly deals with car audio. I noticed it had some home speakers out front and this was odd enough for me to investigate. It appeared that they were mostly used as if they got some package deal on a bunch of used Paradigm speakers.