AR Newbie Registered Member

excess speaker wire

I have read that it does not matter much if one speaker wire is longer or shorter than another; but is it "OK" to wrap excess speaker wire in a loop to make one side shorter than the other to hook up speakers or should I shorten the one side. I wanted to wrap in a loop so if I changed the speaker locations later I would not have to get new wire or have to splice together. The wire I am using is the New Monster wire which I believe is 12 gauge and I do not know if looping excess wire affects sound quality. I am a novice and new to the forum and appreciate your help.

Super Moderator Site Moderator JohnMichael's Avatar
    I loop speaker wire without any negative effect. I would not wrap the wire into a coil. I do keep my speaker wires the same length but that is from my early learning about audio in that you want the current to arrive at the two speakers at the same time. I do not know if this is true but I have always followed it.
    JohnMichael
    Vinyl Rega Planar 2, Incognito rewire, Deepgroove subplatter, ceramic bearing, Michell Technoweight, Rega 24V motor, TTPSU, FunkFirm Achroplat platter, Michael Lim top and bottom braces, 2 Rega feet and one RDC cones. Grado Sonata, Moon 110 LP phono.
    Digital
    Sony SCD-XA5400ES SACD/cd SID mat, Marantz SA 8001
    Int. Amp Krell S-300i
    Speaker
    Monitor Audio RS6
    Cables
    AQ SPKR and AQ XLR and IC

A tight loop will make an inductor (not a good one because both wires are looped). Inductance in a speaker cable is not a good thing, but like most things it's OK in moderation. Make the loop big, say a foot across and no more than 3 turns (all guesses).

Length is far more important due to uneven resistance than anything about signal arrival times. If one speaker were an inch closer to your ears than the other, and you wanted equal signal arrival time, that would require a difference in speaker cable length of 14 miles!