AR Newbie Registered Member

Paradigm Atoms...good rear surrounds?

For x-mas I received a Axiom VP100 and a pair of M3tis. Right now i'm in the process of buying the rear surrounds to complete the 5.1 setup. I'll be using the system for music more so than HT, so I was thinking that it would be better to go with normal 2-way speakers rather than bipoles(or is it dipoles?). I'm a college student on a tight budget at the moment, so I'm only looking to spend about $200. Space is also a factor.

I'm trying to pick up a pair of used M22s, but I'm not sure if that's going to fall through. I've been reading alot of postives about the paradigm atoms and was considering snaching a pair off ebay. They seem to be going for around $100. I figure I could use them until I upgraded and then use them in a office stereo for my dad.

I saw though that the atoms only have power handling of 50 watts. Will this be a problem if used as rears? Also, are the sounds of the axiom and paradigms too different that they wouldn't sound good? Any other suggestions? I'm sure some will say to save up my money, but I really won't have any money coming in until the summer and I have my heart getting this setup as soon as possible.

RGA
    Forum Regular
    Try and get the used Axioms or if they sell a lower end model get that one. I personally loathe the Atom because to me it sounds like a tweaked up $40.00 speaker you get at Future Shop but has NAME and advertising power. People do like them so give them a listen, but they make me nautious and I puke blahhh like that(Slap Shot).

You also probably want to voice match the Axioms so that all speakers sound more or less the same. It's not that important for the rears and is IMO more of a marketing ploy to get people to overspend on rear spekers - but there is mild credence to it and visually it makes sense. Ideally you want all five speakers to be identical.