AR Newbie Registered Member

subwoofer options

Hi,
    I have a subwoofer dilemma and am looking for some advice. I have a JBL PB10 that is behaving badly - it make a loud popping sound - my guess is something in the electronics fried.

I contacted JBL about replacing the board, but they don't have any. They offered to sell me a E150P at an discounted price - about $200 (shipped), which seems like a pretty good deal. Lets call this option A.

Option B is to buy another PB10 which I can find online for ~ $170, but with shipping will probably come out about the same.

Option C is to buy something complete different. For reference, I have a JBL HLS 810's for my mains, and HLS 610s for rears, and an Onkyo Integra DTR 5 for a receiver.

I've read some things about doing custom subs - I could use the box and the woofer (it seems sound), and buy an amp. Let call this D. However, I'm really an amateur. What are my chances of success? Any advice?

Thanks so much for the help,
    -Dan
    Last edited by dabramov; 01-19-2004 at 01:43 PM.

Option C

You are definently not the only one having troubles with their JBL PB series of subs. It sounds like the sub is bottoming out if you are hearing poping, but this would only happen if you were playing it loud when it pops. If you really can't save your money until you get around $400, I'd opt for this http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/pshow...=300-632&DID=7 or the BIC VR1215. The Dayton is suppose to be an excellent value for the money and you don't pay as much of the retail mark up because you're buying strait from the manufacturer. If you can however save up to $350-$400 you could get the Adire Rava (adireaudio.com or one of the Dayton kits (you can get the Dayton kits from the website I gave you). Good luck.

-Joey

Quote Originally Posted by This Guy
    It sounds like the sub is bottoming out if you are hearing poping, but this would only happen if you were playing it loud when it pops.