Forum Regular

I've got $1000 from the Wife!

I finally have the o.k. for $1000 plus or minus a couple hundred to spend on some new surround/music speakers. I am a relative newbie when it comes to surround sound, and have previously eyeballed getting the Bose Acoustimass 10 system. This idea all but fell through when I started reading reviews.
    So since people here considered themselves relative experts, what would be a good set of surround/music speakers for around $1000. I plan on being about 60% Surround/ 40% Music.
    I have considered building a system off of my Bose 4001, which sound pretty good in my opinion, and buying a center channel, sub, and 2 rear channels. I thought this option might allow me to save some $$ and get and up my 300-500$ budget on my reciever.

So if you guys have any suggestion for some great sounding speakers in this range, or even a decent reciever for 300-500, some help would be apprieciated. I need some opinions pretty quick before my wifes charity runs out... haha..

Forum Regular
    Speakers obviously vary per one's own preference, so I can't provide much input on that- I usually say, just stick with a company that only makes speakers (i.e. Mirage, Klipsch, Definitive Technology, B&W, MK, Paradigm, Energy, Canton, etc- there's obviously tons more). Bose are overpriced for what you get- you'll see that a lot on many audio review type boards.

You should be able to get a decent receiver with your $300-$500 budget. The Yamaha RXV657/HTR5860 comes to my mind first because I have it and love it- it does everything I need. You can also look at the Onkyo 603 and Pioneer 1015. I think all of those are around the $400-$500 price range. I feel as long as you stick with Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, or Denon, you should be in good shape for a receiver.

Forum Regular
    Thanks for the advice. I have actually been looking at some Axioms here online. What is the general consensus on this brand. Are they a good value?