Forum Regular

Bose "Free Field Technology"

I was recently looking at the Bose website and discovered what they call "free field technology" for their new whole-house systems. Now I've never been a Bose person, and I'm by no means an expert on home audio. For those of you that are audio experts, am I right in thinking that this "technology" is just another technology out there that bose has re-named as their own? Basically all it does is it makes sure that their wireless audio signals don't interfere with anything else wireless in the same home. I can think of plenty of examples of other products that also transmit audio without disrupting other signals (Apple Airport Express, Wireless A/V, Wireless Speakers), and I'm wondering if there's any real innovation in this technology of theirs. IT seems to me that anyone that makes ANYTHING wireless has to work with this constraint in mind, but like most other products of theirs, Bose is trying to make consumers think it's some amazing technology they've created. Any thoughts? Thanks..

How dare you accuse Bose of misrepresenting one of their amazing product innovations! Don't you know that they are the greatest innovating company this side of Microsoft? What utter ignorance you mutter! If they say that they invented a new way of transmitting wireless signals that don't interfere with other signals, then who are you to question the greatness of their inventive prowess?

Uh, you mean to also tell me that their incredulous save-the-world Acoustic Wave technology is just a shameless repackaging of bandpass designs that have been around for over 80 years? How dare you!

Or that the greatest thing ever virtual surround feature that Bose INVENTED with their 3-2-1 system is no different than the virtual surround modes that's included with every other home theater receiver on the market? Sacrilege!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Woochifer