Musicaholic Forums Moderator ForeverAutumn's Avatar

What's the best way to sell a guitar?

I know that there are a number of musicians on this site and I thought that you may have some good advice for me.

I have a limited edition Ovation guitar that I purchased in 2002. I've since decided that I don't really enjoy playing it. It sounds fantastic, but the bowl slides around too much and the neck is just a bit to wide for me. I'd like to sell it and then purchase something else in it's place. I'm thinking...Taylor.

I went into the store that I bought it from, but they aren't interested in it. The guy there said that I should put it on Craigs List and expect to get 60% to 70% of what I paid for it.

I've never tried to sell a guitar before. Does anyone have any suggestions of what the best way to sell this is? Is Craig's List the way to go?

Man of the People Forums Moderator bobsticks's Avatar
    Actually the advice you got wasn't too bad, go with either Craig's List or a local paper or zine. If you're feeling really adventurous you could post fliers around places frequented by musicians (music stores, bar districts, courthouses, etc.). The three worst venues are going to be music stores, pawnshops or ebay just because you'll take a much bigger hit on your dollars to make way for theirs.

Department of Heuristics and Research on Material Applications
    I would second what bobsticks, said - I usually know people who'd be interested and work things out that way but I know Craig's List is pretty popular.

If you're close to a University you could use a campus newspaper/bulletin space and take out some ads. I've sold/bought many a guitar to/from poor, underfed, overboozed aspiring young musicians...

I like e-bay to be honest, but it has a downside.

Quote Originally Posted by ForeverAutumn
    I know that there are a number of musicians on this site and I thought that you may have some good advice for me.