Question Anyone here play?

If so, what instrument? What kind of music? How long and what's your major influences..

I play bass guitar and standup (in a pinch)

I'm a soul man (pun intended) but can fill in on almost any genre cept hard core Jazz....

Been playing for pay off and on since the Nixon Administration...

James Jamerson (Motown), Willie Weeks, Ron Carter... a little Paul McCartney.....

Can you fill the seat? Can you take a chair???

Crackhead Extraordinaire Dusty Chalk's Avatar
    Yup. I am a professional synthesist. I got paid to play the first time out. Sure, it was a whole $12, but it's better than paying to play, y'know? It was the highlight of my life.

I kind of suck. I can't vamp worth sheet, I like to play mostly original tunes. Fortunately, the band I was in, the music was cool, so I could play it.

Can't improvise in a group context.

But I can play. I'm better than most of the drivel you hear on the radio. Keyboards, that is. 10 1/2 years of formal training, been playing on my own since 1980. A little less the last couple of years.

On guitar, I'm pretty much relegated to "rhythm" (no, not as in "rhythm guitar", as in I damp the strings and play rhythmic noise). Drums I can keep a beat, but most guitarists are better drummers than I.
    Eschew fascism.
    Truth Will Out.
    Quote Originally Posted by stevef22
    you guys are crackheads.
    I remain,
    Peter aka Dusty Chalk

Thanks for asking.

Quote Originally Posted by Worf101
    If so, what instrument? What kind of music? How long and what's your major influences..