Musicaholic Forums Moderator ForeverAutumn's Avatar

A little OT - Desktop recording

I'm in the market for a desktop recording studio. Does anyone here have one? I'm looking for something relatively simple to use because, as you all know, I'm not very technical. For now, I just want to record vocals and guitar. But I can see myself adding a keyboard for other effects at some point.

I know that Troy uses Garageband but I think that's only available for Macs and I have a PC. I went into my local music store this afternoon and the guy there recommended Lambda Studio, which comes with Cubase LE software. There was another one that he also recommended that used Cakewalk's Sonar 6 software, but I didn't write down the make of the Studio component.

He said that Sonar 6 is their top selling software and Cubase is their second best seller, but that he personally felt that Cubase was a little more user friendly.

Anyway, if anyone here knows anything about these home studios, I sure could use some educating and some advice.

Thanks.

Crackhead Extraordinaire Dusty Chalk's Avatar
    If you don't want to waste your time piddlin' with half-assed pieces of software, go for one of the ProTools LE systems that have been coming out lately. They've been pairing them with M-Audios smaller interfaces. They might come as the designation "M-Powered". Here, for example, is one. You would still need a microphone.

If you want to go even cheaper, your best bet is probably to get a USB microphone, and find some cheap or free recording software. This won't allow you to add keyboards later, but it'll give you the chance to hit the ground running from a hardware perspective, and then all you'd need is the software.