Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Who makes a good camera?

Hey gang, How's it going?

I am hoping that you can help me pick out a camera. I am a total beginner so I'm looking for something small to point and shoot and still get good pics. There are a few models that I'm looking at. Do you know much about these? Is there something else I should take a peak at in this range? Looking to spend $300 - 400 unless a lot more can be had for very little extra. It needs to be very small or I just won't bother to carry it. It's gotta almost take the pictures for me or they won't come out clear. I like zoom but not digi-zoom. Here are the one's I've been peaking at:

Olympus Stylus 1000 10 megapix seems like overkill. Stabilization is a program that changes shutter speeds & helps correct it later. Only 3x zoom
    Olympus Stylus 750 7.1 meg seems like plenty. A little fuzzy on the Stabilization on this one. 5x zoom...
    Canon Powershot SD800 7.1 meg again. Stabilization,
    Canon Powershot SD900 10 meg!, no stabilization?

Does anybody know how to help a complete nub? Are any of these good? Are any of them lemons? Remember to keep it simple for me.

Thanks,
    Mike
    WARNING! - The Surgeon General has determined that, time spent listening to music is not deducted from one's lifespan.

GM you should get a camera made by umm........dang what's the name. Anyways, for only $7000, this camera comes with everything you need. Very sleek and won't clutter your counters. Compared to the big bulky cameras out there, this stylish little camera should blend right in. Oh yeah the company is called BOSE

O I kill me. I'm in the market for a new camera myself and we're in the same boat, I don't know to look for. I plan on doing a little research first. But $300 sounds like a good price point.

Quote Originally Posted by L.J.