Super Moderator Site Moderator JohnMichael's Avatar

Parlez vous francais?

I am considering some language programs to become more conversational in French. I am looking at the Rosetta Stone, Pimsleur Approach and Fluenz. I am doing this both for future trips to Quebec City and Paris and a mental exercise. I do have neighbors who are fluent so I can practice speaking with them. My goal is not to be fluent but more conversational.

I first studied French in a rather progressive Catholic elementary school. My teacher knew then what we know now that children learn languages easier at a young age. When I studied French in high school my teacher was surprised what I already knew. I want to be more conversational but my brain also needs the exercise.

If you have used any of the systems available please let me know.
    JohnMichael
    Vinyl Rega Planar 2, Incognito rewire, Deepgroove subplatter, ceramic bearing, Michell Technoweight, Rega 24V motor, TTPSU, FunkFirm Achroplat platter, Michael Lim top and bottom braces, 2 Rega feet and one RDC cones. Grado Sonata, Moon 110 LP phono.
    Digital
    Sony SCD-XA5400ES SACD/cd SID mat, Marantz SA 8001
    Int. Amp Krell S-300i
    Speaker
    Monitor Audio RS6
    Cables
    AQ SPKR and AQ XLR and IC

Quote Originally Posted by JohnMichael View Post
    I am considering some language programs to become more conversational in French. I am looking at the Rosetta Stone, Pimsleur Approach and Fluenz. I am doing this both for future trips to Quebec City and Paris and a mental exercise. I do have neighbors who are fluent so I can practice speaking with them. My goal is not to be fluent but more conversational.

I first studied French in a rather progressive Catholic elementary school. My teacher knew then what we know now that children learn languages easier at a young age. When I studied French in high school my teacher was surprised what I already knew. I want to be more conversational but my brain also needs the exercise.