Super Moderator Site Moderator JohnMichael's Avatar

EOTW May 21, 2011

According to Mr. Camping the world will end this May 21st. Beginning at 6pm the second coming along with an earthquake. Only 2% of the population will rapture to heaven. So how do I pass my audio equipment on to you heathens after I am raptured?

Camping has presented several arguments, or biblical "proofs", in favor of the May 21st end time. A civil engineer by training, Camping states he has attempted to work out mathematically-based prophecies in the Bible for decades. In an interview with SFGate he explained "...I was an engineer, I was very interested in the numbers. I'd wonder, 'Why did God put this number in, or that number in?' It was not a question of unbelief, it was a question of, 'There must be a reason for it.' " [13]

Harold Camping being interviewed about his prediction in early 2011.As early as 1970, Camping dated the Great Flood to 4990 BC.[14] Taking the prediction in Genesis 7:4 ("Seven days from now I will send rain on the earth") to be a prediction of the end of the world, and combining it with 2 Peter 3:8 ("With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day"), Camping concludes that the end of the world will occur in 2011, 7000 years from 4990 BC.[5] Camping takes the 17th day of the second month mentioned in Genesis 7:11 to be the 21st May, and hence predicts the rapture to occur on this date.[5]

Another argument[15] that Camping uses in favor of the May 21st date is as follows:

1.According to Camping, the number five equals "atonement", the number ten equals "completeness", and the number seventeen equals "heaven".
    2.Christ is said to have hung on the cross on April 1, 33 AD. The time between April 1, 33 AD and April 1, 2011 is 1,978 years.
    3.If 1,978 is multiplied by 365.2422 days (the number of days in a solar year, not to be confused with the lunar year), the result is 722,449.