Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 33
  1. #1
    Forum Regular Woochifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    6,883

    Firefox 3 To Be Released on Tuesday (June 17), Attempting Record # of Downloads

    The latest version of the open source Firefox browser comes out tomorrow (Tuesday, June 17). The Mozilla organization that coordinates Firefox development is attempting to set a one-day download record with Firefox 3. Firefox's market share is already approaching 20%, and this push for Firefox 3 might be enough to put it over that mark.

    I use Firefox as the default browser on both my PC and my Mac. Even the current version of Firefox runs faster and is more secure than IE7. Firefox 3 will purportedly bump up the performance, while using a smaller memory footprint and improving the malware protection. For anyone who just uses IE7 because it came with your PC, it's well worth giving Firefox a try. It's fast and stable, and it doesn't use that gawdawful IE 7 interface. Here's the info on tomorrow's download event ...

    http://www.spreadfirefox.com/en-US/worldrecord/firefox3
    http://www.spreadfirefox.com/en-US/worldrecord/
    Wooch's Home Theater 2.0 (Pics)
    Panasonic VIERA TH-C50FD18 50" 1080p
    Paradigm Reference Studio 40, CC, and 20 v.2
    Adire Audio Rava (EQ: Behringer Feedback Destroyer DSP1124)
    Yamaha RX-A1030
    Dual CS5000 (Ortofon OM30 Super)
    Sony UBP-X800
    Sony Playstation 3 (MediaLink OS X Server)
    Sony ES SCD-C2000ES
    JVC HR-S3912U
    Directv HR44 and WVB
    Logitech Harmony 700
    iPhone 5s/iPad 3
    Linksys WES610



    The Neverending DVD/BD Collection

    Subwoofer Setup and Parametric EQ Results *Dead Link*

  2. #2
    Suspended
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Out there
    Posts
    6,777
    How do I know this isn't a hoax and instead you get clobbered with a nasty virus?

  3. #3
    Loving This kexodusc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Department of Heuristics and Research on Material Applications
    Posts
    9,025
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich-n-Texas
    How do I know this isn't a hoax and instead you get clobbered with a nasty virus?
    Easy. Firefox 3 is 100% Kexo-certified! It's Kexorific. Trust the Kex-man.
    For the add-ons alone, if nothing else.

  4. #4
    Loving This kexodusc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Department of Heuristics and Research on Material Applications
    Posts
    9,025
    This is cool. I'll have to sneak into work and put in on a few computers just to do my share of downloading.

    interestingly enough, FF3 has been available on Linux for awhile now. Wonder if those downloads count?

  5. #5
    Musicaholic Forums Moderator ForeverAutumn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    9,769
    Quote Originally Posted by kexodusc
    Easy. Firefox 3 is 100% Kexo-certified! It's Kexorific. Trust the Kex-man.
    For the add-ons alone, if nothing else.
    Well that's all the stamp of approval I need.

  6. #6
    Forum Regular Woochifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    6,883
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich-n-Texas
    How do I know this isn't a hoax and instead you get clobbered with a nasty virus?
    Uh, because it's not another version of Internet Explorer?
    Wooch's Home Theater 2.0 (Pics)
    Panasonic VIERA TH-C50FD18 50" 1080p
    Paradigm Reference Studio 40, CC, and 20 v.2
    Adire Audio Rava (EQ: Behringer Feedback Destroyer DSP1124)
    Yamaha RX-A1030
    Dual CS5000 (Ortofon OM30 Super)
    Sony UBP-X800
    Sony Playstation 3 (MediaLink OS X Server)
    Sony ES SCD-C2000ES
    JVC HR-S3912U
    Directv HR44 and WVB
    Logitech Harmony 700
    iPhone 5s/iPad 3
    Linksys WES610



    The Neverending DVD/BD Collection

    Subwoofer Setup and Parametric EQ Results *Dead Link*

  7. #7
    I took a headstart... basite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mortsel, Antwerp, Belgium, Europe, Earth
    Posts
    3,056
    I just pledged

    will download it as soon as it's available...

    Since firefox came, IE went forever on my pc

    Keep them spinning,
    Bert.
    Life is music!

    Mcintosh MA6400 Integrated
    Double Advent speakers
    Thiel CS2.3's
    *DIY Lenco L75 TT
    * SME 3012 S2
    * Rega RB-301
    *Denon DL-103 in midas body
    *Denon DL-304
    *Graham slee elevator EXP & revelation
    *Lehmann audio black cube SE
    Marantz CD5001 OSE
    MIT AVt 2 IC's
    Sonic link Black earth IC's
    Siltech MXT New york IC's
    Kimber 4VS speakercable
    Furutech powercord and plugs.

    I'm a happy 20 year old...

  8. #8
    Forum Regular audio amateur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,523
    Speaking of Firefox, i need help. I currently have Version 2.0 installed. As soon as I open it, it uses at least 100 megs of RAM. The problem is, that number just keeps going up, and can reach 600 at times! (Im running XP SP3, with 768MB RAM SDRIMM). This is worse than when I'm playing Doom 3!
    I do tend to open 6-10 tabs so I don't know if that has anything to do, but it gets anoying past the 768MB mark. Does it have any future on my computer or should I simply scrap it?

  9. #9
    Loving This kexodusc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Department of Heuristics and Research on Material Applications
    Posts
    9,025
    Quote Originally Posted by audio amateur
    Speaking of Firefox, i need help. I currently have Version 2.0 installed. As soon as I open it, it uses at least 100 megs of RAM. The problem is, that number just keeps going up, and can reach 600 at times! (Im running XP SP3, with 768MB RAM SDRIMM). This is worse than when I'm playing Doom 3!
    I do tend to open 6-10 tabs so I don't know if that has anything to do, but it gets anoying past the 768MB mark. Does it have any future on my computer or should I simply scrap it?
    Yeah, FF doesn't have a memory leak, but the way it uses cache at times can give the impression it does (especially with Java and Flash that make that number soar).

    There's easy work arounds, you just have to change a few settings and you can cap it. This page should give everything you need.

    http://internetducttape.com/2006/12/...-firefox-hack/

    Does it actually slow the machine down? It's designed to stop gobbling RAM if other apps are using it.

  10. #10
    I took a headstart... basite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mortsel, Antwerp, Belgium, Europe, Earth
    Posts
    3,056
    Quote Originally Posted by audio amateur
    Speaking of Firefox, i need help. I currently have Version 2.0 installed. As soon as I open it, it uses at least 100 megs of RAM. The problem is, that number just keeps going up, and can reach 600 at times! (Im running XP SP3, with 768MB RAM SDRIMM). This is worse than when I'm playing Doom 3!
    I do tend to open 6-10 tabs so I don't know if that has anything to do, but it gets anoying past the 768MB mark. Does it have any future on my computer or should I simply scrap it?

    weird, could be a fault too (that task manager gives the wrong value...), I just opened 73tabs (I don't usually do that ), and it took 50mb of my memory...

    Keep them spinning,
    Bert.
    Life is music!

    Mcintosh MA6400 Integrated
    Double Advent speakers
    Thiel CS2.3's
    *DIY Lenco L75 TT
    * SME 3012 S2
    * Rega RB-301
    *Denon DL-103 in midas body
    *Denon DL-304
    *Graham slee elevator EXP & revelation
    *Lehmann audio black cube SE
    Marantz CD5001 OSE
    MIT AVt 2 IC's
    Sonic link Black earth IC's
    Siltech MXT New york IC's
    Kimber 4VS speakercable
    Furutech powercord and plugs.

    I'm a happy 20 year old...

  11. #11
    Forum Regular audio amateur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,523
    Quote Originally Posted by kexodusc
    Yeah, FF doesn't have a memory leak, but the way it uses cache at times can give the impression it does (especially with Java and Flash that make that number soar).

    There's easy work arounds, you just have to change a few settings and you can cap it. This page should give everything you need.

    http://internetducttape.com/2006/12/...-firefox-hack/

    Does it actually slow the machine down? It's designed to stop gobbling RAM if other apps are using it.
    Thanks. Yes it does affect the performance when total RAM usage goes past the 786 available, which does happen. I guess I'll give the version 3.0 a try if it's coming out soon.

  12. #12
    Forum Regular Woochifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    6,883
    Most of the Mozilla sites have been down all day, including the download sites (unless you link directly like I did). Everything seems back up and running. Here's the front page link just in case the SpreadFirefox website still doesn't link to the current download file.

    http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all.html
    Wooch's Home Theater 2.0 (Pics)
    Panasonic VIERA TH-C50FD18 50" 1080p
    Paradigm Reference Studio 40, CC, and 20 v.2
    Adire Audio Rava (EQ: Behringer Feedback Destroyer DSP1124)
    Yamaha RX-A1030
    Dual CS5000 (Ortofon OM30 Super)
    Sony UBP-X800
    Sony Playstation 3 (MediaLink OS X Server)
    Sony ES SCD-C2000ES
    JVC HR-S3912U
    Directv HR44 and WVB
    Logitech Harmony 700
    iPhone 5s/iPad 3
    Linksys WES610



    The Neverending DVD/BD Collection

    Subwoofer Setup and Parametric EQ Results *Dead Link*

  13. #13
    Forum Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    231
    I mostly use Firefox as my browser, but I was using Opera for a while. I can't see the point in participating in some attempt at a download record though. Why bother? The site will probably just get overloaded and crash. Better to download when all the fuss is over.

  14. #14
    Shostakovich fan Feanor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    London, Ontario
    Posts
    8,127

    No prob downloading

    Quote Originally Posted by Woochifer
    Most of the Mozilla sites have been down all day, including the download sites (unless you link directly like I did). Everything seems back up and running. Here's the front page link just in case the SpreadFirefox website still doesn't link to the current download file.

    http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all.html
    Thanks, Wooch, for the link.

    I downloaded from this link yesterday, (Tues, Jun 18), at about 7:00 PM EDT with no problems. Download speed was in the normal range for the file size, ~7.5MB.

    FF3 installed over FF2 with no issues on my WinXP SP3 machine.

  15. #15
    I took a headstart... basite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mortsel, Antwerp, Belgium, Europe, Earth
    Posts
    3,056
    downloaded & installed, works perfectly

    Keep them spinning,
    Bert.
    Life is music!

    Mcintosh MA6400 Integrated
    Double Advent speakers
    Thiel CS2.3's
    *DIY Lenco L75 TT
    * SME 3012 S2
    * Rega RB-301
    *Denon DL-103 in midas body
    *Denon DL-304
    *Graham slee elevator EXP & revelation
    *Lehmann audio black cube SE
    Marantz CD5001 OSE
    MIT AVt 2 IC's
    Sonic link Black earth IC's
    Siltech MXT New york IC's
    Kimber 4VS speakercable
    Furutech powercord and plugs.

    I'm a happy 20 year old...

  16. #16
    Suspended
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Out there
    Posts
    6,777

    You guys with XP SP3...

    Has this service pack been officially released yet? Is it automatically pushed to my machine through the auto update function, or do I have to go somewhere and retrieve it myself? If so, can I get a linky?

  17. #17
    I took a headstart... basite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mortsel, Antwerp, Belgium, Europe, Earth
    Posts
    3,056
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich-n-Texas
    Has this service pack been officially released yet? Is it automatically pushed to my machine through the auto update function, or do I have to go somewhere and retrieve it myself? If so, can I get a linky?

    didn't know it was out myself

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...DisplayLang=en

    that's A link, should be the right one too...

    Keep them spinning,
    Bert.
    Life is music!

    Mcintosh MA6400 Integrated
    Double Advent speakers
    Thiel CS2.3's
    *DIY Lenco L75 TT
    * SME 3012 S2
    * Rega RB-301
    *Denon DL-103 in midas body
    *Denon DL-304
    *Graham slee elevator EXP & revelation
    *Lehmann audio black cube SE
    Marantz CD5001 OSE
    MIT AVt 2 IC's
    Sonic link Black earth IC's
    Siltech MXT New york IC's
    Kimber 4VS speakercable
    Furutech powercord and plugs.

    I'm a happy 20 year old...

  18. #18
    Suspended
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Out there
    Posts
    6,777
    I don't think so Bert. On that page it says: "DO NOT CLICK DOWNLOAD IF YOU ARE UPDATING JUST ONE COMPUTER: " I think they want only IT groups to use that one.

    This link: http://www.update.microsoft.com/wind....aspx?ln=en-us will check your computer "for the latest available... blah blah blah". It's possible that my home PC has already been updated to SP3, so I'll check when I get home.

    Okay, so as not to piss Wooch off ( ), how much pain is involved in installing FF3 on an IE7 intensive PC? How smooth will the transition from one to the other be?

  19. #19
    Forum Regular Woochifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    6,883
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich-n-Texas
    Has this service pack been officially released yet? Is it automatically pushed to my machine through the auto update function, or do I have to go somewhere and retrieve it myself? If so, can I get a linky?
    I installed SP3 about a month ago. I don't think the automatic Windows Update is pushing it yet, but the service pack updates usually go automatic about a month after the service pack gets released (presumably to prevent MS' servers from getting overloaded).

    You could always manually run the Windows Update (I have most of MS' background services switched off, so all of my updates and PnP functions are done manually).

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich-n-Texas
    Okay, so as not to piss Wooch off ( ), how much pain is involved in installing FF3 on an IE7 intensive PC? How smooth will the transition from one to the other be?
    Almost none. Just go to the Mozilla download site, install the program, check no when Firefox asks you if you want to change your default browser, and check yes when the installer asks you if you want to start the browser. If you like it, you can change the defaults and use Firefox as your primary browser. If you don't like it, just uninstall it -- unlike MS' IE kludge, uninstalling Firefox actually removes the application files and leaves you with a clean system (well, at least as clean as Windows gets! ).
    Wooch's Home Theater 2.0 (Pics)
    Panasonic VIERA TH-C50FD18 50" 1080p
    Paradigm Reference Studio 40, CC, and 20 v.2
    Adire Audio Rava (EQ: Behringer Feedback Destroyer DSP1124)
    Yamaha RX-A1030
    Dual CS5000 (Ortofon OM30 Super)
    Sony UBP-X800
    Sony Playstation 3 (MediaLink OS X Server)
    Sony ES SCD-C2000ES
    JVC HR-S3912U
    Directv HR44 and WVB
    Logitech Harmony 700
    iPhone 5s/iPad 3
    Linksys WES610



    The Neverending DVD/BD Collection

    Subwoofer Setup and Parametric EQ Results *Dead Link*

  20. #20
    Musicaholic Forums Moderator ForeverAutumn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    9,769
    Holy cow! I've always used IE. I just downloaded Firefox and I can't believe how much faster it is. The navigation will take a little getting used to, but the speed is great!

  21. #21
    Forum Regular Woochifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    6,883
    Initial impressions of Firefox 3 ...

    Altogether, a mixed bag. Strangely enough, FF3 runs slower on my PC than FF2 and seems to gobble up more memory (although the memory consumption does not increase as fast as FF2 did -- it simply takes up a larger memory footprint at the outset). But, on my iMac, FF3 is blazing fast and takes up a noticeably smaller memory footprint.

    I suspect that FF3 will bump up the performance more with newer machines and a lot of installed ram (my PC is a five-year old Dell with a 1.8 GHz P4m and 384 MB of RAM), but with older machines on more marginal specs like mine, it might actually be more of a drag on the system.

    On my Mac, there's no question that FF3 is much faster than FF2, and I'd say it's at least on par with Safari even while running Firefox add-ons. Still getting used to the new functions like page zooming and instant site ID.

    I'm also getting used to the new location bar, which uses keyword indexing to match up websites as you're typing. The big change is that it mixes the bookmarked sites with the recently typed sites, which I don't necessarily like. And clearing out the history no longer clears off the location bar.

    But, I really like the phising and malware protection tools. Very well integrated.

    And FF3 works with my two favorite add-ons -- the AdBlock add-on (which blocks most web ads and speeds up page loading) and the IE add-on, which allows you to switch rendering engines on the fly (i.e., if a site is written for IE, you can switch to an IE view within Firefox).

    Still a lot of sites to try, so I'll see how it goes.
    Wooch's Home Theater 2.0 (Pics)
    Panasonic VIERA TH-C50FD18 50" 1080p
    Paradigm Reference Studio 40, CC, and 20 v.2
    Adire Audio Rava (EQ: Behringer Feedback Destroyer DSP1124)
    Yamaha RX-A1030
    Dual CS5000 (Ortofon OM30 Super)
    Sony UBP-X800
    Sony Playstation 3 (MediaLink OS X Server)
    Sony ES SCD-C2000ES
    JVC HR-S3912U
    Directv HR44 and WVB
    Logitech Harmony 700
    iPhone 5s/iPad 3
    Linksys WES610



    The Neverending DVD/BD Collection

    Subwoofer Setup and Parametric EQ Results *Dead Link*

  22. #22
    Musicaholic Forums Moderator ForeverAutumn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    9,769
    I notice that the resolution isn't as good as on IE, especially for text. Is there a way to improve that?

    And how do I get that Adblock add-on? Thanks.

  23. #23
    Forum Regular Woochifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    6,883
    Quote Originally Posted by ForeverAutumn
    Holy cow! I've always used IE. I just downloaded Firefox and I can't believe how much faster it is. The navigation will take a little getting used to, but the speed is great!
    Ah, the joys of a web browser that just does web browsing! (as opposed to IE, which has been tasked with also enforcing the Windows monopoly) When you get around to it, you should also start perusing the add-ons. Those apps add a LOT of functionality to Firefox.

    And if you really miss the IE interface, you can actually download different themes that change the look and feel of the browser (and there are a few that can make Firefox look like IE).
    Wooch's Home Theater 2.0 (Pics)
    Panasonic VIERA TH-C50FD18 50" 1080p
    Paradigm Reference Studio 40, CC, and 20 v.2
    Adire Audio Rava (EQ: Behringer Feedback Destroyer DSP1124)
    Yamaha RX-A1030
    Dual CS5000 (Ortofon OM30 Super)
    Sony UBP-X800
    Sony Playstation 3 (MediaLink OS X Server)
    Sony ES SCD-C2000ES
    JVC HR-S3912U
    Directv HR44 and WVB
    Logitech Harmony 700
    iPhone 5s/iPad 3
    Linksys WES610



    The Neverending DVD/BD Collection

    Subwoofer Setup and Parametric EQ Results *Dead Link*

  24. #24
    Man of the People Forums Moderator bobsticks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    down there
    Posts
    6,852
    Assuming that the security levels are better ( and they really couldn't be worse ) and that the speed is significantly faster (again couldn't be worse, I open up more than a few windows and, BAM,shutdown) could one import ones "Favorites" list to Firefox?

  25. #25
    Musicaholic Forums Moderator ForeverAutumn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    9,769
    Quote Originally Posted by bobsticks
    Assuming that the security levels are better ( and they really couldn't be worse ) and that the speed is significantly faster (again couldn't be worse, I open up more than a few windows and, BAM,shutdown) could one import ones "Favorites" list to Firefox?
    When I installed it tonight, I was asked if I wanted to import my favourites, cookies, etc. to Firefox. I entered "yes" and everything was transferred over. Although, I did have to log into this site again.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •