Thread: Olympics in HD

Olympics in HD

I usually don't watch sports, but finding Olympics fun to watch as this is my first time watching it in HD on local NBC channel. Their entire late night slot is dedicated to Olymics and picture quality is awesome.

You can see these athletes are in top form in their fields where even a 1/10 of a second matter. I don't cheer for a particular team or country as its all good and is done in spirit of human endurance

Suspended
    Sports like the Super Bowl, and Olympics, is where you will see the best pictures pumped out in HD.

Slow motion with the high speed cameras is awesome, where you can see each drop of water splashing away as the swimmers make each stroke, and see what the judges are looking for in the gymnastis vaults. I just wish NBC would show more of the other events, I mean on Saturday they spent 5 hours of broadcast time on a 150 mile mens bike race that only had 1 min of excitment (last 200 meters) and then spend another 3 hours on the womens bike race same course as the men and again the only excitment was the last 200 meters. I know Boxing, weightlifing, Trap shooting, ping pong and a host of other events that are going on that could be shown during these two bike races.

On my Vios system NBC has full time Soccer and Basketball channels setup, but nothing for highlights of other events in real time. The last real full coverage of Olympics events I remember was the 72 Games when ABC did it and that was haulted due to the terrorist attacks. The Olympics are only once every four years and it show case each nations best, I don't understand why US televison can't support full coverage all day like it was in the past.
    HT
    Pioneer Elite SC lx502
    Pioneer Elite N50
    Pioneer Cassette CTM66R
    Pioneer Elite BDP 85FD

Vizio P series 2160p
    Panamax 5300 EX

Thanks goodness for all this new hightech social media, I have to rely upon tweets via ESPN of what is happening in real time.
    HT