Forum Regular Mwalsdor_cscc_edu's Avatar

Velodyne CT-100 - USED $135

I'm looking to add a subwoofer to my HT and wondering how the Velodyne CT-100 stacks up to more modern subwoofers. I found one for $135 used. My room is 24x17x9. The rest of my system is blend of new front-end; Panasonic TC-P50X1, Denon AVR-590, Panasonic DB65K, and vintage speakers; JSE Infinite Slope 1, Signet SL260 surrounds and centre channel and Power Wedge 113 line conditioner.

My budget is around $300 but would the used Velodyne kick anything new on the market in my budget? I mostly use this system for 80% TV viewing, so musical content isn't a strong consideration. I live in a house don't listen at loud levels. Also being a SW noob I'm unsure where to place the sub. Typically would it be better behind the display or in a corner behind the listener position? Thanks in advance.

I have a Velodyne CHT-8 for HT use and its a good little sub. Tight room shaking bass. My room is 17x17x10'. I'm not sure how the CT series compares. Mine sold for about $300 over 10 years ago.

These would be a nice alternative-

http://www.audiophileliquidator.net/...105b1c6904483b

http://www.audioadvisor.com/prodinfo.asp?number=VEIM
    Pass Labs X250 amp, BAT Vk-51se Preamp,
    Thorens TD-145 TT, Bellari phono preamp, Nagaoka MP-200 Cartridge
    Magnepan QR1.6 speakers
    Luxman DA-06 DAC
    Van Alstine Ultra Plus Hybrid Tube DAC
    Dual Martin Logan Original Dynamo Subs
    Parasound A21 amp
    Vintage Luxman T-110 tuner
    Magnepan MMG's, Grant Fidelity DAC-11, Class D CDA254 amp
    Monitor Audio S1 speakers, PSB B6 speakers
    Vintage Technic's Integrated amp
    Music Hall 25.2 CDP
    Adcom GFR 700 AVR
    Cables- Cardas, Silnote, BJC
    Velodyne CHT 8 sub

Forum Regular