Forum Regular

Should/Do I Need to Buy Another AVR Receiver to Replace My Denon 3802?

I've been using a Denon 3802 AVR Receiver for the last 3 years and it works great & I'm very happy with it. I have an Orb Audio Mod 1 5.1 Speaker System with it and watch DVDs through my HK 31 DVD player & listen to CDs from my Jolida JD-100A Tube CD player & also use a Musical Fidelity X-10 V3 Tube Buffer with it. I'm very happy with my CD sound & pretty happy with my DVD & Digital TV sound.

What I'm wondering however for my DVD & TV 5.1 sound, not so much for my CD sound, is the fact that my Denon 3802 is 5 years old (or perhaps older) & if I would get a noticeably better 5.1 sound for DVD movies & digital TV, from a Receiver that came out in the last year or 2 or will the difference in audio sound be minor at best (Assume I'm not changing my speakers)? I'm not concerned with better features, or my picture or anything, just in noticeably improving 5.1 dolby digital or DTS sound.. Physically my Denon 3802 is in great condition & I've never had any problems with it. I'm also happy with my current speakers & sub & won't be changing them. Please let me know, if you think I'll notice an instant improvement in my sound with a newer AVR & if so, please recommend some specific ones by brand & model #.

I appreciate your input. Honestly, I'd prefer not buying another AVR if the audio improvement will be minor at best. Thanks for your help.

I think you'd be crazy to trade that receiver in for another receiver, if an improvement in sound quality is your only goal. But if you DO decide to replace it, can I buy it?

Jeff
    PIONEER: SX-780, CT-F700, HPM-100(x4), DV-C302D, PD-F1007, PL-514; DENON: AVR-983; SONY: D-15, DVP-985V, DVP-CX860(x2); TOSHIBA: XR-9459; TECHNICS: SL-1800MK2, SL-1700MK2, SL-1400MK2; NAD: PE2200; PARADIGM REFERENCE: STUDIO 100 V.2, SERVO-15, X-30; CERWIN-VEGA: DX-9; REALISTIC: MACH 2; RCA: 42" LCD HDTV

Forum Regular