Forum Regular

Should I upgrade my receiver??

Hey guys! New guy here from GA. Really nice site by the way!! I just purchased a 42" Panasonic Plasma last week from BB and I've been really pleased with it so far. I'm thinking about buying a PS3 for minor gaming and the BR player. Should I upgrade the current receiver I have?? This is the system I'm runnin.

42" Panasonic Plasma
    5.1 Polk surround w/ Sony powered 12
    Panasonic SA-HE100 receiver http://reviews.digitaltrends.com/rev...specs4829.html

I'm really new to home theater and don't know much about it so any help would be great. I'm not looking for anything to blow me through the wall either! It sounds good to me now. Just wondering if I would see a difference with an upgrade?? Thanks, Wes

Man of the People Forums Moderator bobsticks's Avatar
    Hey Wes,

Welcome to the forum.

Quo vadimus baby, where are we going? What are you looking to accomplish by this potential upgrade?

The only serious reason I can think of to upgrade would be a lack of connections. If you are planning on using the PS3 as a one source universal player you should be alright. Just send the video to the tele via the hdmi and audio to the receiver with an optical cable.

Now if you're asking if there are receivers out there with better amp sections, then the answer is "yes". But, right now you have what appears on paper to be a decent HT system for a guy who doesn't want to be blown through a wall and the Polks are an easy push.

I suppose if you wanted to get into serious analog playback or move into a set of hard-to-drive speakers the answer would differ but for now just enjoy.

Peace

Forum Regular
    Only thing is that you will not get the new audio formats from Bluray films.

bill
    Speakers-Jm Labs
    Disc player-Sim Audio Moon Calypso
    Pre-amp-Sim Audio P-5.3 SE
    dac= sim audio moon 300d

Amp-Sim Audio Moon I-3
    Display-Toshiba CRT
    Wires and Cables-Kimber,Straight Wire, ixos, Gutwire and shunyata research