receiver clipping

Printable View

• 03-22-2006, 07:01 AM
    audio amateur
    receiver clipping
    My receiver has volume increaments such as these: (starting @ "-85dB, then -84dB, -83dB...etc. all the way up too "0dB".
    I am wondering whether or not it starts "clipping" before I reach the maximum volume @ "0dB". Is this so? if so, at about which increament? (approx. -10dB perhaps?)
    More importantly, is it giving out its full 100W@6ohms potential at "0dB" or does it deliver it before? Thanks again.
  • 03-22-2006, 10:59 AM
    Wireworm5
    I'm no expert, but guarenteed it will clip before you reach full power. My power amp rated for 160 watts will clip at 75 watts according to their test sheet. At 75 watts the db level should be around 116 dbs. I think this is a good benchmark, half of whatever your power rating is, so 100 watts would be 50 watts of clean power. Where that is on your volume knob I have no idea, but I think you can easily crank it to 95 db 'C' weighted and be okay as far as clipping goes.
  • 03-22-2006, 11:40 AM
    Cal Blacksmith
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Wireworm5
    I'm no expert, but guarenteed it will clip before you reach full power. My power amp rated for 160 watts will clip at 75 watts according to their test sheet. At 75 watts the db level should be around 116 dbs. I think this is a good benchmark, half of whatever your power rating is, so 100 watts would be 50 watts of clean power. Where that is on your volume knob I have no idea, but I think you can easily crank it to 95 db 'C' weighted and be okay as far as clipping goes.