• 10-22-2008, 05:05 AM
    kexodusc
    Question on 3:2 pulldown detection
    Here's a question for the video buffs out there:

I went over to a friend's place last night to help him calibrate his new 52" Sharp Aquos. Nice set!

Anway a question came up that I wasn't 100% sure on.

Most modern HD displays have a video setting that has 3:2 pulldown detection.
    In most TV menu's I've seen the option to engage or disengage the 3:2 pulldown detection. Usually the options are called "Video" and Film or "auto", in this case it was Film Mode, and on or off. I'm not a video expert, but I believe the purpose of this setting is to apply the 3:2 pulldown processing.

DVE and other discs say to leave it on "Film" or "Auto". What I don't understand is why even have an option at all if the set auto-detects when it's needed? Is there any danger of the processing being applied when it shouldn't?

This guy wanted to know if he should have the setting off? I figure maybe sports aren't filmed at 24 fps so there wouldn't be any 3:2 pulldown flag, or processing applied, but I'm not sure. Is there ever a time when these things should be set to "Video" or "off"
  • 10-23-2008, 12:55 AM
    pixelthis
    I have seen these settings on DVD players but not on TV sets.
    Perhaps the scaler needs to know, if so I would leave it on "auto".
    Wont make any difference for sports, which are video, mostly.
    The only time 3:2 pulldown is a concern is for movies played off of DVD.
    Blu solves the 3:2 bugaboo completely with 24fps showing of all film material, even DVD's are shown in that framerate, and if your set is
    even close to new it will display it.
    And it looks great.
    Btw it takes 24 frames, creates three of each for 72hz.:1:
  • 10-23-2008, 05:15 AM
    kexodusc
    Quote:

Originally Posted by pixelthis
    I have seen these settings on DVD players but not on TV sets.
    Perhaps the scaler needs to know, if so I would leave it on "auto".