AR Newbie Registered Member

Pioneer Stereo Reciever SX-255R and a question about A/B Speakers

Im very new to the home theatre set up so excuse my lack of knowledge please.

For Christmas I am buying my mother a new reciever as hers is 20 years old. THe model that I am currently looking at is in the title. Now my first question is has anyone any experience with the model, is it any good? The full list of specs given is quoted at the end of this post.

My second question has to do with A/B speakers (of which I know nothing about), on the specs given for it on the website I am looking at, at the moment, it lists it's capabilities as having "A + B Speakers". My question is this, does that inherrently mean that if I set up two sets of speakers, one in the main room and one in an ajacent room I will be able to choose which speakers are playing be that just the A set, just the B set, and both or does it imply something else entirely? Thank you for your help, it is greatly appreciated.

Main Features
    Stereo AM-FM receiver

Remote control

40-Station AM/FM Random Preset Memory

Tone controls

A/B speakers

Power output @ 6 ohms 2 x 70 watts

Frequency response 20Hz - 20kHz

Distortion 0.9%

General
    Power AC 240Volts 50-60Hz

Power consumption 120 Watts

Demensions (W)420mm x(H)140mm x(D)298mm

Weight 6.6Kg

Quote Originally Posted by FIzban1397
    My question is this, does that inherrently mean that if I set up two sets of speakers, one in the main room and one in an ajacent room I will be able to choose which speakers are playing be that just the A set, just the B set, and both or does it imply something else entirely? Thank you for your help, it is greatly appreciated.
    Yes you are correct you can just play A speakers or just B speakers or both at the same time.
    Note: that when you want to listen to surround sound you must unselect the B speaker so just the A speakers are playing. otherwise the rear speakers will not play.