Forum Regular

Noob needs help connecting new setup with DVD player, TV, and XBOX

Hey,

I just got an Onkyo HT-S760 home theater system with an Onkyo DV-CP701 DVD player.

I am starting to get this thing setup, but it is my first time with a receiver or any type of audio setup, and I have a few questions....I'm looking through the manual, but they don't answer everything I'm wondering.....

I want optimal video quality for both DVD player and the XBOX. Currently, I have my XBOX connected to the TV via component video. If I want component quality from the DVD player, however, what must I do? The receiver has 2 component ins and 1 component out, while the TV has just 1 set of component video. How can I set this up so all things run at the best quality? Will I have to sacrifice XBOX quality for DVD quality.... and vice versa by plugging both DVD + XBOX component into the receiver, then from receiver out to TV run another set of component? I hear this takes away from picture quality by not directly plugging into the TV...

Now with audio, again, how do I get optimal audio from both XBOX + DVD's + TV. I have an optical digital cable connecting the DVD player to the receiver, but what other connections must I make. What needs to be done so DVD's, XBOX, and TV can come into the surround sound setup at best quality.

Sorry for all the questions, any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Quote Originally Posted by BoostedA4
    Hey,

I just got an Onkyo HT-S760 home theater system with an Onkyo DV-CP701 DVD player.

I am starting to get this thing setup, but it is my first time with a receiver or any type of audio setup, and I have a few questions....I'm looking through the manual, but they don't answer everything I'm wondering.....