• 12-14-2006, 07:40 PM
    ddayton217
    No Dolby Digital Signal...
    I just bought a HK AVS245 receiver, I have my XBOX hooked up through a optical connection and it plays full Dolby Digital sound. I have a Sony 5-Disc changer ( that does DTS, DD, etc) and when I play a DVD through there it doesnt show or auto detect in Dolby Digital sound. I have the dvd hooked through a digital coax conection. I ran EZSET on the speakers and it finds some here and there and gives different reports all the time. Can someone shed some light on this? Im fairly new at the HT world..thanks
  • 12-15-2006, 02:43 AM
    Dusty Chalk
    Sounds like it should work. Tell us more.

The only thing I can think of is go through the menu of the Sony changer to see if you accidentally have digital out turned off or something.
  • 12-15-2006, 05:23 AM
    kexodusc
    I agree with Dusty - sounds like a goofy setting somewhere (there's a bunch of 'em) hasn't been activated. Make sure the bitstream and PCM setting in the DVD player are correct.
    Some receivers need to know what what inputs to read for which sources, make sure your receiver knows it should be reading.
  • 12-15-2006, 11:24 AM
    ddayton217
    Ok I'll check into that, my Media Center PC also doesnt play in DD..I thought the receiver was supposed to decode the signals then send them out to the speakers? I guess thats not the case....I'll let you know when I find out more..thanks!
  • 12-16-2006, 04:46 AM
    Dusty Chalk
    Quote:

Originally Posted by ddayton217
    ..I thought the receiver was supposed to decode the signals then send them out to the speakers?

Should.
  • 12-16-2006, 02:15 PM
    Daedilus
    Sounds to me like you have not yet assigned the digital input to specific types/numbers.