Forum Regular

Newbie here...need suggestions!

Hello, I just started learning more about surround sound systems today so I am still very new to this! My house is in the process of being built and is getting pre-wired for my surround sound system.

Before I began seriously researching, I was set on buying my system from Best Buy. I was going to opt for the Yamaha - 910W 7.1-Ch receiver, the Klipsch - Synergy III 6-1/2" 2 ways for the front floor speakers, Klipsch - Synergy III 6-1/2" 2-Way for the center speakers, Klipsch - Synergy III 4" 2-Way Dual-Tweeter Surround Speakers for the rears, and finally Klipsch - 12" 650W Powered Subwoofer. Buying these seperately at Best Buy would run me about $2,300.

After doing some research on this message board I am under the impression that I can get a better system for aproximately the same amount of money.

Here is what I have observed.... I am pretty sure that I want to get the Onkyo 705, but I am really confused about what speakers to get! I looked at the B&W and I really would like to get some floor speakers for the front and it seems as if the B&W 684's would run me about $1,000 a pair, which might be a bit much. Can you guys recommend me some floor speakers that would sound great... on par with the B&W 684's that would be a bit cheaper?

Another issue I am having is the way the floor plan is, the speakers will have to be mounted up on the walls about 10 feet off of the floor. The speakers will be aproximately 4 feet behind the sofa, 10 feet up in the air. I do not think that mounting large rear speakers on the wall would be attractive. Which brings me to the "in-wall" alternative. Are there any in-wall speakers that I can use for the rears that would be comparable with the B&W 686? If I am going to have to compromise quality when going with a in wall speaker then I will just stick with the non in wall speakers since I really do want this system to sound great.