AR Newbie Registered Member

New member + need a little advice

Hi all, I'm kinda new to home theater and had a few ?'s. I have and old Sony 5.1 reciever with
    really crappy speakers that i purchased @ Best Buy about 3 years ago (500$$). It has DD 5.1 and support for DTS. However the subwoofer is a 8inch 50watt system thats on its last breath. Anyways i was looking at a replacement for this system and came upon the Logitech z 5500 computer speakers. This set has a Digital coaxial input (DVD player) and a
    digital optical input (Xbox). They are also THX certified and retail for about 300$$. I was planning on getting these but i wondered how these "multi-media speaker system" compare to the home theater speaker systems from the likes of polk, yamaha, ect..... I'm looking to spend no more than 500$. Any comments or advice is appreciated!

Forum Regular

Save & Buy A Good System

Without going into my personal recommendations which people here don't like anyway, I'm going to give you the best piece of advice which you'll probably disregard- save your money because you can not get a decent home theater system including cables, speaker wires & all the other crap (even used) for less than I'm guessing $1200- $1500 & you're only chasing good money after bad. You're best off either not buying anything & saving for a decent system or using your credit card & getting something decent.

Forum Regular
    I agree... save, then get a decent one. a lot of people have sold their old stuff at cheaper prices because they wanted to upgrade. I am speaking from experience. Good luck with your purchase... dont' hurry.

Actually Hershon gives good advice! $500 will barely clear a good subwoofer, so I'd save up and wait.

The Logitechs make fine computer speakers, but not home theater speakers. Once you get more than 2 feet away from them they will become quite crappy sounding.