Need TV Help

Printable View

• 04-15-2004, 08:13 PM
    Matthus
    Need TV Help
    Thinkin of upgrading my Mitsu 57"HD...It is about 3 yrs old and I would like to do 60" to 65". Should I stay with CRT or look at DLP,LCD,plasma? :confused:
  • 04-16-2004, 11:31 AM
    Ogeez
    Well I'm no expert but when I was ready to jump into the HT world I did alot of reading and research and concluded that I maybe better off jumping into the Front Projector World instead. For the price of a 60" HDTV you can get a decent 100" Widescreen PermWall Mounted Screen with an Quality LCD Projector. I bought an Epson PowerLite with Component/VGA/RCA/Digital etc, 3000 hours of bulb use and 1200 ANSI Lumanance for crisp viewing on a High Contrast Cinema Grey Screen from Da-Lite and the best part was it all cost $2000 brand new. Replacement bulb costs from the internet I found was $163.00. Yes it takes patience to initially set up but I did it instead of 60+lbs of heavy TV and I will not get burnout on the screen as in plasma and DLP, and after 5 years I don't need to recalibrate the tiny mirrors in the the TV from regular use. Just one man's opinion. Try AVDEALS.COM and ProjectorPeople.com for a good start on the subject and remember, I am now looking at The Good the Bad and the Ugly on 100" viewing Widscreen <druling>. :D
  • 04-16-2004, 02:58 PM
    woodman
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Matthus
    Thinkin of upgrading my Mitsu 57"HD...It is about 3 yrs old and I would like to do 60" to 65". Should I stay with CRT or look at DLP,LCD,plasma? :confused:

I second the advice given by Ogeez here ... if you can, your best bet would be to go to a DLP or LCD-based front projector. You can have a dynamite display system for $2K or less with that approach. There are no RPTVs that can compete with that, and if there were they would cost 3-4 TIMES as much! Plus, there's NO such thing as a 100" screen RPTV, and there probably never will be.