Asr
    AR Newbie Registered Member

Need advice on HT system

I'm a relative audio newb (even more a video newb) and I'm looking to overhaul everything I have right now, which is a non-PS DVD player and 27" CRT TV. Here's what I'm planning:

2.1 or 5.1 speakers, budget: $1000

Obviously I want to go all-out on my speakers. What are the best top-grade 2.1 and 5.1 systems? Not interested in 6.1 or 7.1.

DVD player + receiver, budget: $500

If there are any good combo VCR/DVD that also pack progressive-scan, along with all the features and connections I need, I want to know. But if there aren't, I'll settle for a non-combo player. And this may be a dumb question, but what is a receiver, and do I really need one?

HDTV, budget: $2500

I've reviewed LCD vs plasma and I'm leaning towards LCD because they seem more cost-effective. What are the pros and cons of each? My screen size options are limited to 32", 37", or 42" (don't have a very large room). 37" specifically is the best screen size for the space it'll be going into. And I'd prefer a TV with an integrated HD tuner.

Any and all comments/suggestions would be appreciated.

Forum Regular
    We're in similar situations. I just got into this stuff recently and it is highly addictive.

The product that is "the best" is highly subjective and one that only you'll be able to answer once you audition and hear for yourself.

Since you have a budget in mind already, you'll be able to save a lot of time.

In my opinion, go into 2-3 audio speciatly stores (not Best Buy or Tweeter), the ones that are usually very small in retail space and have names like Meridian, Krell, B&W, Denon, M&K, Paradigm as the brands they deal. These are just a few names and they are very high end and pricey, but there usually are a few otherf more affordale names out there.