Forum Regular

surround vs surround back

I know this sounds dumb but I'm new at this and am comfused by the manual for my new Pioneer VSX-816. I have a 5.1 speakers system, two surround speakers are mounted above and behind the listening zone. I thought that these would be "surround back" speakers (as shown in the drawings in the manual) but I don't hear sound from these speakers in this mode. Should I connect them as "surround" speakers? In the manual, these are pictured on the sides of the listening position, not behind. What would be a good TV show to watch (with digital cable) to test the surround speakers?

Thanks!

BooBs are elitist jerks shokhead's Avatar
    You wont get surround from tv unless its pay per view.
    Look & Listen

I put the Gee in Gear.... thekid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bubbagump
    I know this sounds dumb but I'm new at this and am comfused by the manual for my new Pioneer VSX-816. I have a 5.1 speakers system, two surround speakers are mounted above and behind the listening zone. I thought that these would be "surround back" speakers (as shown in the drawings in the manual) but I don't hear sound from these speakers in this mode. Should I connect them as "surround" speakers? In the manual, these are pictured on the sides of the listening position, not behind. What would be a good TV show to watch (with digital cable) to test the surround speakers?

Thanks!
    I might be reading your question wrong but....

The Pioneer you have is a 7.1. I would first check your speaker connections to make sure you have it wired properly. If you put your wires in the surround back and set it on 5.1 then I think that might be the probelm. Use your remote to check your set-up feature and make sure you select 5.1.

Suspended
    If you have HD movie channels, they are in 5.1.