• 01-04-2008, 05:37 PM
    Xilanxiv
    Help finding decent HT system
    Hello, I was wondering if I could beg some advice from the more experienced audiophiles and techs here. I'm currently looking for a low to mid range home theater system. I've been reading reviews and posts on this site and others for about a month and a half now, and now that the christmas bonus is in the bank, I'm ready to make a decision, but still am quite unsure what to get.

I'm looking for a 5.1 system, high quality sound, doesn't need to be very powerful for my small apartment. This will be used for both movies and music, I listen to more music than movie, but I'd like to be able to have good sound when I bring friends over for a movie. My budget is $300 up to $800, although being a student I can always find uses for extra money, so the less spent the better. I've been quite impressed with Klipsch speakers, perhaps the Klipsch Quintet II or III, and yamaha has some good receivers from what I understand, although I'm not sure my budget can go high enough for these. I'm also not sure whether I want to chance buying a box set from a store, or piece something together that I can add to at a later date.

I was considering these speakers, Fluance AV-HTB, because the price is very nice, and I could get a decent receiver and sub and other gear to fill it out, however a micro system would be preferable with my living situation.

I have some audio tech experience, but it's mostly limited to professional concert and PA equipment, so it's difficult not working with the budget of a school, church or club.

Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks very much.
  • 01-05-2008, 09:37 PM
    johnny p