AR Newbie Registered Member

Equipment Suggestions for a 3.1 Setup???

I'm new to home theater and confused as to what I need. I'm wanting to have a center speaker, two front sides and a sub for my new plasma TV. I'm not wanting the rear speakers because of space and aesthetics (wife), and I'm not looking for real high-end equipment. Do I purchase an amp for 5.1? My understanding is that the 5.1 means a total of 6 speakers that include a sub. Not to confuse things, but I presently have a Pioneer SA-900 stereo amp along with two Pioneer CS-99 speakers (15" woofer 5-way system) that I purchased 30 years ago but still sounds great. Is it possible to use some or all of what I have or purchase all new equipment exclusively for the TV? The recent posts on the Pioneer VSX1016TXVK look really nice. Any help would be appreciated.
    George

Suspended
    I'd say get all new equipment. For the following reasons, you probably will not find a matching center channel for your older speakers, I am one who firmly believes that optimum HT performance is had by matching (voice match/timbre match) speakers; you can buy an entry level, if not used, 5.1 receiver cheap, $199.00 and up new.

I personally would recommend going ahead with the rear speakers, on some soundtracks it is quite fun. Have you considered "in wall" or ceiling speakers for the rear? They may not be most people's first choice but it's better than none. A HT receiver will allow you to send the rear low frequencies to the sub. How can the wife object to rear speakers when you have those monster mains?