AR Newbie Registered Member

dvi or component

I'd like opinions on what is the preference. I just bought a samsung 50 inch dlp and use component video to connect my hdtv cable box to my tv (what is the benefit of connectingmy component video through my receiver?).

Also should I use a dvi connection from my cable box to the tv?

Thanks for input.

Okay, I am by no means an expert. I'm not even certain what a DLP tv is, but I just bought an HDTV myself so I learned a little bit. Anyways from what I know you want to use the DVI cable. This keeps the signal digital for an HD picture. The component cable is analog, so your HD cable will convert the digital signal to analog defeating the higher resolution that the digital offers for your HDTV.

Forum Regular
    Wireworm says:

Okay, I am by no means an expert. I'm not even certain what a DLP tv is, but I just bought an HDTV myself so I learned a little bit. Anyways from what I know you want to use the DVI cable. This keeps the signal digital for an HD picture. The component cable is analog, so your HD cable will convert the digital signal to analog defeating the higher resolution that the digital offers for your HDTV.

You "learned a little bit" did you? Just enough to give an inquiring newbie an incorrect answer to his question. While it is true that the DVI connection keeps the video signal in the digital domain when being transferred between components in a system, it does not provide any greater "resolution" than the component-video interconnect does. The only real difference between the two is where the conversion (from digital to analog) takes place. With the component-video connection the conversion is performed by the video DAC in the cable (or satellite) "box". When the DVI interconnect is employed, the conversion takes place by the video DAC in the display device (TV set).

To chaz1965: