Can High Speed Internet replace my Directv?

Looking to cut costs this year so i've canceled my cell phones for a prepaid one which saves me over $100 per month...now, i want to know if i can replace my $100+ Directv service.

I have a 2 new desktops with Vista Home Prem for work. It doesn't have a video connection like HDMI or S-video,but those look cheap to add.

Can i insert a video card and stream internet content to my projector and LCD? They both have HDMI,component, S-video and composite.?

Reading the latest posts here it looks like i can save enough to get a PS3 and use it to stream then my savings will start to add up.

Not sure where to start. I work in IT, but the home video/streaming part is new to me.

I do. The ATI display card in my music server has composite, HTMI and S-Video outputs. The display card (NVidea 9800 GX2) for my next computer has HTMI and DVI outputs. The real issue is slow speeds (sometimes) from the server.
    I have no cable or "dish". FiOS is not available here yet. I do get very good over the air reception. Living in a larger urban area gives me 12 broadcast stations. Some of them transmit on as many as 4 channels. Combine that with content from the "web" and I'm fairly well satisfied.
    If you go this route with your PC I recommend acquiring a game oriented display card with at least 1/2Gb of display memory. Most current desktop PC's use shared memory. Unless you add more memory (I would anyway) there is a trade off in performance when 1/4 or 1/3 of your system memory is used by the display. I've been using my system to display sound and video from my computers for many years.

I just got (last Wednesday) a monthly prepaid phone. It costs $40 a month for unlimited local and long distance, unlimited text and unlimited Web surfing.
    ARC SP9 MKIII, VPI HW19, Rega RB300
    Marcof PPA1, Shure, Sumiko, Ortofon carts, Yamaha DVD-S1800
    Behringer UCA222, Emotiva XDA-2, HiFimeDIY