AR Newbie Registered Member

speaker cross-over issue? Help I'm a newb

Hi everyone,

I recently got my first house so Now I can finally crank it! My receiver is a fisher
    rs-9115 that has a max output of 100watts per channel. First dumb question if i'm running 2 speakers does that mean each speaker gets 100 or 50 watts?
    I just got some used Cerwin Vega DX-9's that i've fallen in love with! Man these things
    really rock and sound good! It has a 15inch driver, 6.5 mid and dome bullet loaded horn tweeter. I couldn't find any info on Cerwin's website since the speakers are soo old but I
    think the rated response is 30-20000hz and it is circuit and fused protected, cross over points of 250 and 5000hz I think? The speakers are supposed to handle 400 watts max, Now the strange thing is when I was playing some hard rock and really cranked it up all the way it blew the fuse to one speaker! No smoke came out and this was after about 2 minutes at max volume. Now if the speaker can supposedly handle 400 watts then my 100 watt receiver shouldn't be able to hurt it I think?? Maybe the crossover is going bad/out I dunno? I'm glad the fuse popped! What do you guys think? Should I get a new crossover assuming I can find one? Thanks in advance!

Dan.

Does the receiver say Fisher or FisherPrice?

I think its just Fisher. I'm at work now so can't verify.

My thoughts

Quote Originally Posted by blackops_1
    Hi everyone,

I recently got my first house so Now I can finally crank it! My receiver is a fisher
    rs-9115 that has a max output of 100watts per channel. First dumb question if i'm running 2 speakers does that mean each speaker gets 100 or 50 watts?
    I just got some used Cerwin Vega DX-9's that i've fallen in love with! Man these things
    really rock and sound good! It has a 15inch driver, 6.5 mid and dome bullet loaded horn tweeter. I couldn't find any info on Cerwin's website since the speakers are soo old but I