Thread: Multi Ch Hookup

Forum Regular

Multi Ch Hookup

Hi everyone, I am new to DVD-A and SACD audio formats. I have a Toshiba DVD Player that plays DVD-A discs. It has a multi ch outputs and I have a Yammy RX-750 that has multi ch inputs. Here is my question.Presently I have my dvd player audio connected via optical fiber.Do I need to connect the Multi ch inputs and outputs with different audio cables in order to get the best sound from these discs ? Do I need Both ? I have been told that the optical is all that I would need. Anyone have any thoughts on this? Thanks.

The ONLY way to get the high resolution audio from DVD-A and SACD is to connect the multi channel in/outputs. If you use only optical you will get only DD/DTS from DVD-A and zilch from SACD. With the multichannel connection you will gain the high res MLP of DVD-A and the hi res of SACD.

Forum Regular
    Thanks for the reply but do I need to have both the optical and multi ch connected at the same time or just multi ch connection? Also what kind of interconnects do I use?
    Thanks hardrock
    Last edited by hardrock; 04-08-2005 at 09:51 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by hardrock
    Thanks for the reply but do I need to have both the optical and multi ch connected at the same time or just multi ch connection? Also what kind of interconnects do I use?
    Thanks hardrock
    You need both because one set is for DVD-A and SACD, while the fiberoptic calbe is for movies. When wishing to listening to DVD-A you merely choose 6-channel input on your receiver, and when watching movies, select DVD input.

Forum Regular
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_pci
    You need both because one set is for DVD-A and SACD, while the fiberoptic calbe is for movies. When wishing to listening to DVD-A you merely choose 6-channel input on your receiver, and when watching movies, select DVD input.
    Thanks Paul, this is what I will do.
    hardrock