AR Newbie Registered Member

Looking at spending £800. What speakers should I get

Hi all.

Newbie here.

I have about £800 to spend and I'm looking at getting some nice speakers to give me a nice 5.1 or similar effects.

I was looking at Bose, but reading the posts here it sounds like I should look at alternatives.

Could you please advise.

Also, Should I be getting an AMP to connect the speakers to via TV DVD player etc, or should I be looking at something more integrated.

I look forward to your replies.

are you dead set on getting 5.1 immediately, or would you consider a receiver, and fronts/center to start, and connect sub and surrounds later? What do you have now? (T.V. DVD. receiver, any speakers, etc)

B&W 686's and a nice sub! Stay away from bose unless you just are in the mood to give your money away.
    Pass Labs X250 amp, BAT Vk-51se Preamp,
    Thorens TD-145 TT, Bellari phono preamp, Nagaoka MP-200 Cartridge
    Magnepan QR1.6 speakers
    Luxman DA-06 DAC
    Van Alstine Ultra Plus Hybrid Tube DAC
    Dual Martin Logan Original Dynamo Subs
    Parasound A21 amp
    Vintage Luxman T-110 tuner
    Magnepan MMG's, Grant Fidelity DAC-11, Class D CDA254 amp
    Monitor Audio S1 speakers, PSB B6 speakers
    Vintage Technic's Integrated amp
    Music Hall 25.2 CDP
    Adcom GFR 700 AVR
    Cables- Cardas, Silnote, BJC
    Velodyne CHT 8 sub

Hi Veej,