Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Forum Regular

How about a SACD primer

I would like to get into SACD recordings. Can you all let me know how you are experiencing SACD? I don't know dit and don't have much green to feed the pony. What do I need to play SACD back through my computer? Where/how are you getting your SACD recordings? What are some good quality inexpensive players (if there are such a thing)? Informal pondering on all things SACD would be appreciated. .

Big science. Hallelujah. noddin0ff's Avatar
    SACD is not computer friendly. I have limited experience with SACD because, 1) there are few titles available 2) I'm not big into multi-channel music since I'm not able to sit and listen for adequate length of time 3) I can't convert it to a portable format or put it on my music server. Most my SACD came from bargain bins. Why? Because no one was buying it and, thus, good stuff was in bargain bins. I took my SACD/DVD player out of my system a few month ago and don't miss it.

Otherwise, what little SACD I do have sound fantastic. It's a good format and when quality recordings go in, quality comes back out.
    TCA ATT GGA

The selection of music on SACD is quite limited except for classical music. Check out current and past SACD release at SA-CD.net - Recent Additions

There is no practical consumer method to rip SACD to computer files. (You can rip the CD layer of hybrid discs, but the result is CD quality.) You will need some sort of SACD player to listen to them.

The lowest cost SACD-capable players are the Sony Blu-ray players, e.g. the BDPS590 which outputs multi-channel SACD in PCM (or native DSD) via HDMI. Thus vitually any AV receiver with HDMI input can be used to play SACD. This is the cheapest way to get into SACD assuming you have a half-decent HT system.

There are other SACD players, many of them stereo-only, e.g. the Marantz SA8004, which is well-regarded both as an SACD and a CD player.

Aging Smartass