Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: EQs.

AR Newbie Registered Member

EQs.

Hi,

I'm new to the separate-components game (and this site--Hi all). I've had a Denon all-in-one system (with dual cassette decks/radio/CD drive/5-band graphic EQ) for the past 15 years and it's time to replace it. I use my 5-band EQ all the time when listening at home (and on my mp3 player as well, for that matter) and have noticed for years now that stereos and amps rarely have EQs. Some don't even seem to have bass and treble knobs, which I find insulting.

I've spoken with people in better audio shops (not chain stores), and everyone's telling me the very same thing: music is produced at such a high quality these days that it's "best" to keep it flat and not add anything extra to it--to listen to it as it's MEANT to be heard.

I see the logic but don't agree with it. Everyone's ears pick up frequencies differently and everyone likes to hear their music with a touch more low-end bass/midrange/treble, depending on the recording or mood (or even volume). I'm being discouraged to add a simple graphic EQ to a new setup I'm putting together (with Denon components and some great speakers I'm still deciding on).

I'd love it if anyone can shed some light on this for me so that I can perhaps learn something in the event that I'm not "getting it". I haven't heard a sound reason for not adding EQ other than to listen to things as they're "meant to be heard." I'm just looking for logical/technical reasons, not just agreement or disagreement.

Thanks a LOT,
    Nige

EQ's are usually junk that add filters and potentiometers all over the spectrum. The idea is great, but the average EQ will not only color the sound in the way that you want it, but also take a poop on it in the process.

I'm actually going to be adding an eq to my system in the next month, but it's a digital EQ.. digital in/out so there won't be anything nasty put into the signal path.

This is the one I'm looking at: