Question Why are Audiophiles so mean?

I'm relatively new to the discussion forums on this site, and as I was reading the posts, especially in the My System and Dream System galleries, I was struck by the prevalence of mean comments people posted about the tastes, arrangements, and ownership of audio equipment. Why is that? It seems to me that people, including myself, build their system according to their budget, interest, and knowledge of audio equipment. What is the point in deriding someone for their choice in equipment? Shouldn't we discuss and educate rather than mock?

So I ask all of you: why are many audiophiles so mean? What is really accomplished by being mean?

Snobs

Quote Originally Posted by paul_pci
    I'm relatively new to the discussion forums on this site, and as I was reading the posts, especially in the My System and Dream System galleries, I was struck by the prevalence of mean comments people posted about the tastes, arrangements, and ownership of audio equipment. Why is that? It seems to me that people, including myself, build their system according to their budget, interest, and knowledge of audio equipment. What is the point in deriding someone for their choice in equipment? Shouldn't we discuss and educate rather than mock?

So I ask all of you: why are many audiophiles so mean? What is really accomplished by being mean?

Sadly, it's the insulation of the internet, and sheer rock-throwing snobbery. It's not just the audiophiles that are mean, it's some naysayers, and general trolls.

But I know just what you mean. I saw one thing in the gallery: Some kid around 12-13 posts a pic of a diy system. Some jerk posts a comment "Take down that picture and get a real set of speakers" or something vile to that effect.

It's a form of intolerance, that only goes away face-to-face in real life, when people realize insults may be held against them physically.

Forum Regular
    The internet has a way of changing people.