• 03-22-2007, 09:53 AM
    gyzmot
    Avr 220 from Harman Kardon
    Before buying this unit i'm no expert in connection,i have a 42" lcd from LG model42LC2D ,i need to know if because this receiver doesn't have any component output,do i really need that to have the best connection or i can manage to do a good job without them
    thank you guys
  • 03-22-2007, 10:33 AM
    gjpham
    Quote:

Originally Posted by gyzmot
    Before buying this unit i'm no expert in connection,i have a 42" lcd from LG model42LC2D ,i need to know if because this receiver doesn't have any component output,do i really need that to have the best connection or i can manage to do a good job without them
    thank you guys

If you already heard and are now looking for 1080i or 1080p upconversion receiver. This avr220 is definitely not the one, unless you must have many diff VIDEO sources. I used to have this model 220 about 5,6 years ago, the best way to get video to your TV is to cut the by-pass and go straight from your DVD to your LG lcd.
  • 03-22-2007, 10:44 AM
    gyzmot
    ok thank you ,yes i'm looking eventually for 1080 x 1080 so the component is doing that or do i need to go through other connection ,can i go with a Avr325 or Avr525
    thank you
  • 03-22-2007, 11:09 AM
    gjpham
    Quote:

ok thank you ,yes i'm looking eventually for 1080 x 1080 so the component is doing that or do i need to go through other connection ,can i go with a Avr325 or Avr525
    thank you

It is very difficult to give an accurate opinion if we don't know which DVD player you have. As you may know, component cable will be one step lower than the Hdmi. I would invest more on a good dvd player ( Pioneer DV-46i for $249) rather than rely on the the new hip unconversion...
    Keep in mind that though many receivers claim to able upconverting your 480 or 720 sources to 1080p or 1080i, actual result was a little more disappointed. Many of them did not reach up to what they claim on the specs. Good luck.