Forum Regular

What's better HDCD or SACD?

I been looking into it and HDCD is by Microsoft and SACD is by Sony. SACD from the connection side looks just like DVD_Audio and HDCD uses just the R/L connector as regular CD. So, I'm assuming that if I run a Stereo system then HDCD will be what I need then.

Am I right? What's the major differencts in sound quality beside one is surround?

For starters only

Quote Originally Posted by m500

I been looking into it and HDCD is by Microsoft and SACD is by Sony. SACD from the connection side looks just like DVD_Audio and HDCD uses just the R/L connector as regular CD. So, I'm assuming that if I run a Stereo system then HDCD will be what I need then.

Am I right? What's the major differencts in sound quality beside one is surround?
    I'm not an expert but I belive the following comments are valid.

Standard audio CD is referred to as "Red Book CD", (RBCD), after a standard devloped by Sony & Philips I believe. RBCD is PCM, (pulse code modulation), at 16 bits x 44.1 kHz. The 16 bits record the amplitude of the signal. HDCD is an "augmented" CD format that is backwards compatible with standard RBCD, but which, with the right equipment, extends the effective bit count to 20 from the standard 16. Don't ask me how this works.

SACD is the distribuition format associated with DSD, ("Direct Stream Digital"), invented by Sony. It is a different concept from PCM; it consists of 1 bit X about 2300 (I think) kHz. The single bits are either + or - meaning increasing or decreasing amplitude.

In terms of total bits per second, DSD = ~2300 kbps is much higher than PCM 16 x 44.1 = 705.6 kbps, (and for that matter 20 x 44.1 = 882 kbps), so inherently it is higher resolution. (But note that that it is lower rez than the DVD-A standard that is PCM 24 x 96 = 2800 kbps.)